Thread: Water Stones

Water Stones

How come my artificial 6000 grit stone just kind of smears with an oily kind of black film? Blade is clean. Tried nagura and without and same thing.

Dan

probably a lubricant I have some water stones that do that. 6000, isnt that more like burnishing than polishing.

Ya, dug out my water stones after a phone conversation with John D and all I got is 1500 grit and the 6000. Maybe the 6000 is too fine.

Dan

Originally posted by Dan Pfanenstiel
    Ya, dug out my water stones after a phone conversation with John D and all I got is 1500 grit and the 6000. Maybe the 6000 is too fine.

Dan
    I wish I could help but I've never used water stones before. I'm hoping that you're not jumping from 1500-6000. The one I could think of happening is that you don't have enough slury on your stone. Another thing to consider is that, traditional polishing stones (may it be synthetic or natural) have a different shape of its particles. Their more rounded rather than sharp. So what's happening is that you're more like scrubbing the steel rather than scratching it.

Taking a blade this high could get very tricky specially if you don't have the right stone to match you're blade. Try adding more slury on your stone and use light preasure. Don't work the same spot on the stone all the time, spread it around and try to use the whole stone.

Hope that helps.

waitaminute John, you don't use water stones? What'r you using?

I think going from 1500 to 6000 is probably bad, just playing with them. Just weird that the fine stone reacts the way it does.

Dan

waitaminute John, you don't use water stones? What'r you using?

I think going from 1500 to 6000 is probably bad, just playing with them. Just weird that the fine stone reacts the way it does.

Dan