Thread: clay type

clay type

hey guys,im new to smithing and im having a hard time figuring out what kind of clay should be used for differential hardening,someone please point me in the right direction,any tips would be appreciated

the same stuff you use in making your forge... refractory clay...
    "Please look in the encyclopedia and make a brief memorandum for me concerning the life of Correggio."
    Elbert Hubbard

Nakamura Ryu Batto Do, Order of Seven Hearts

thanks man,gotta ask,do you practice under dave drawdy,if so ive probably seen you at swordfest

As Christopher said, most makers use refractory clay, probably the two most common types used are satanite, and ap green #36. I've just started heat treating, but in my limited experience, satanite seems a little better, whereas #36 is maybe a little more convenient as it is pre-mixed. Both are available in small quantity from hightemptools.com.

at Kenneth, yes I practice under Sensei Drawdy and was the guy carving tsuka at the last swordfest
    "Please look in the encyclopedia and make a brief memorandum for me concerning the life of Correggio."
    Elbert Hubbard

Nakamura Ryu Batto Do, Order of Seven Hearts

i got some stove and fireplace mortar,says it resists 2100f,I used on a jap style straight razorlike blade,im wondering if a hamon will show as I polish

What alloy? Some are impossible to get hamons on; others go wild at the drop of some clay!
    Thomas Powers
    CoFounder of the Intergalactic Union of Bladesmiths
    "when you forge upon a star"---you better have your union card handy!

yep - alloy is the first important step in forming a beautiful hamon. Less than 40pts of Manganese is needed (none is optimal but I have some low manganese 1075 from