Thread: Scottish regimental dirk

Scottish regimental dirk

Hello everyone, I came across this dirk?? recently and I'm trying to find more information on it. I have very little knowledge myself of antique weaponry or weaponry of ant sort really, so any help would be great. From what I can gather online it's a Scottish regimental dirk, hope the pictures are adequate, let me know if not and I can try and take better ones, many thanks in advance,
    Name:  20130603_210750.jpg
Views: 587
Size:  93.3 KBName:  20130603_210813.jpg
Views: 464
Size:  94.0 KBName:  20130603_210803.jpg
Views: 506
Size:  96.5 KBName:  20130603_210756.jpg
Views: 402
Size:  97.5 KB
    Last edited by Gabrielle Ahearn; 06-05-2013 at 06:28 AM.

This is a Piper's Dirk for regiments of the British Army.
    It could be either the Mk 1 or the Mk II.
    Is there a makers mark on the blade possibly Mole or Wilkinson?

here is an original specification 1899 document issued to Mole
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Robert Wilkinson-Latham; 06-05-2013 at 07:22 AM.

[QUOTE=Robert Wilkinson-Latham;1190080]This is a Piper's Dirk for regiments of the British Army.
    It could be either the Mk 1 or the Mk II.
    Is there a makers mark on the blade possibly Mole or Wilkinson?

here is an original specification 1899 document issued to Mole[/Q

Name:  20130605_153746.jpg
Views: 251
Size:  98.8 KB
    I have posted pictures of the blade edge which has the only markings on it that I can see,Their may be something at the bottom on one side but it's very faint, I also put up a picture of the other side of the hilt which has a different design.Name:  20130605_161353.jpg
Views: 236
Size:  89.4 KBName:  20130605_154519_1.jpg
Views: 228
Size:  100.6 KB

Not unusual most UK Government Contract weapons only have military marks and for items such as Piper's Dirks issued to Band and Pipers of the Highland Regiments many no not have regimental marks or numbers.