Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Indian Mutiny Sword - Just!

Indian Mutiny Sword - Just!

Last edited by james.elstob; 07-01-2016 at 02:41 AM.

I've moved my initial message from above to here as there was some problem with the initial post that wouldn't let me edit out my annoying typos. I've also checked back in my notes and find that I knew all along that he was 17 not 18 so I have changed this too.

Hi all,

As this is my first sword identified to a specific officer, I thought I would share my research. There may be more information sources out there but I feel like i’ve got a broad outline now. This is my first time reading about the Indian Mutiny so please bear it in mind that I am not claiming to be an expert and I am making some guesses and assumptions.

The sword was purchased at auction, advertised as a George V Naval sword but it was obvious from images that it was an 1822 infantry sword with the gothic hilt with folding guard suggested it was more likely to be earlier than George V. As suspected when it arrived it had Victoria's "VR" blade etching and cypher.

Not mentioned by the auction house was that it was a Wilkinson made numbered blade (8429) which pinned the year down to 1857. Because of the blade etching and the information identified below I haven't applied for the Wilkinson records. It seems pretty conclusive who the sword was owned by. Etched on the blade in its own cartouche was the name “Herbert W Irons”.

My Initial enquiries identified an officer of this name in the London Regimental Territorial Force in 20th century; however because of the year of manufacture of the sword a more likely candidate seemed to be an Ensign serving in India in 1858.