Thread: Another Ketland Eaglehead?

Another Ketland Eaglehead?

There seems to be a theme on Ketland eagleheads recently, so I thought I would ask for an opinion on my one. Bought in the UK a few years ago, it would appear to be a classic eaglehead by Ketland. I am no expert in the various eaglehead types and the dating thereof, so I would welcome comments/advice generally. The blade has very worn decoration, which includes cannon so I am thinking perhaps an artillery officer. No discernible makers name or marks.

Thanks
    Jerry

Name:  P1170411s.jpg
Views: 59
Size:  18.6 KB Name:  P1170412s.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  22.0 KB Name:  P1170414s.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  24.5 KB Name:  P1170415s.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  23.5 KB

Nice sword.

It is easy to generalize and say this is of the Ketland family and I even list these in a ketbck folder (I also have folders for the original and screamer crested eagles with a ket tag)
    https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...W8?usp=sharing

However, I do so for convenience only. A lot of the crested backstrap swords were manufactured in Germany. With your's in the form of the English 1803 infantry swords, English manufacture fairly likely. My own example of a crested eagle with a backstrap undeniably German. Widmann of Philadelphia imported entire swords of this general form.

While the crested backstrap eagles lasted (I believe) well into the 1830s, your sword seems to me to be on either side (timewise) of the 1812 conflict.

My crested backstrap

Cheers

Hotspur; again, my eagle folders online from a couple of years ago and only a start with many misplaced (purposefully) or simply lost. Eagles II to follow some day with a vastly condensed and annotated version.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...mM?usp=sharing
    Last edited by Glen C.; 09-29-2016 at 09:28 AM.

Thanks Glen.

Do the Ketland or the German made swords normally carry a makers name or mark?