Thread: Help with Kanesada Wakizashi

Question Help with Kanesada Wakizashi

Hi, firstly, apologies if this has submitted twice, Internet problems.
    Secondly, I'm somewhat new to the Nihonto world and have a lot to learn, so please forgive any errors and whatnot.
    And finally, I have recently acquired a wakizashi, possibly Mino, signed Kanesada (Thought it was Kaneyoshi originally), c.Bunmei/Taiei era (Late 1400s-Early 1500s).
    Pictures: https://www.facebook.com/michael.geo...2006219&type=3
    Pictures/info on seller's website: http://www.antique-swords.eu/AB65-Ja...Wakizashi.html
    As you can see, the blade and most of the koshirae (which looks to be for katana) has seen better days, the tsuba, however, is lovely. I have a feeling there's potential in this wakizashi.
    However, I've been told by someone that the nakago looks to have been tampered with at some point, and the mei could be gimei. Is there a way to confirm whether this is true/false? Also, if possible to tell via images, is this blade from around the said time period?
    Obviously, I don't want to be spending loads on restoring, if it's not worth it so help/advice would be very much appreciated.
    Thank you all in advance!

Difficult to know where to start.....the first thing that caught my eye was the block of something that has been used as a seppa to make the hilt fit correctly and which would suggest to me that the sword has been assembled from spare parts,it would be normal to have a pair of copper seppa on a sword of this type not a chunky item inserted to take up the slack.
    The hilt looks to be out of proportion,too big for the blade and might be katana size,is it around 9"-10"?
    The blade looks to be old but it would be almost impossible to pin the date and swordsmith with any precision as there was a multitude of 'Kanesada' smiths and wakizashi of this type would have been turned out in bundles and used by common soldiers and civilians.