Thread: Unusual French Officers Cavalry Sabre?

Oak Harbor (on Whidbey Island) Washington State

Unusual French Officers Cavalry Sabre?

Good morning. I am new to the Sword Forum and I hope this is the right Forum section. I was wondering if the professionals here can help me identify an old cavalry sabre that I am researching for a friend. It appears to be a French Officers Model 1822 Cavalry Sabre, but it is pretty dark with corrosion and surface rust on the scabbard, so I may have missed some markings. There are a few aspects of this saber that I cannot find on any other website with M1822 photos including: the amethyst(?) stone in the hilt grip, the eagle on the pommel, and the flat stamped wire (vs. two twisted wires wrapped together) around the shark skin grip. I am tempted to clean it up a little to maybe locate more markings but would like your opinion on that, too. Can you help me identify what it is, when it was made, and its approximate value? Photos of the saber are at: http://s95.photobucket.com/user/Fire.../library/M1822. I can provide more specific photos if that might help. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.
    Last edited by Bill Waite; 03-26-2017 at 08:54 AM.

That's beautiful, I love it.

Good evening Bill,
    Most probably a saber "de fantaisie", based on the model 1822 and made for a 2nd Empire officer.
    Dan

Thanks for the input. I haven't had much luck finding any photos of similar sabres with all the same characteristics. I'm still wondering about the eagle on the pommel? Any significance to this eagle? My friend wants to sell it but so far I haven't been able to give him even a ball park figure of its value. Any suggestions about how (or IF) I should clean it up a little? I believe there are some inspectors marks on the scabbard but cannot read them because of the surface rust. Bill