Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Review Of English Swordsmanship, Volume 1 by Steve Hand

Review Of English Swordsmanship, Volume 1 by Steve Hand

I thought I would sit down and write a review of Steve's book. It was hard to do without making some sort of humorous reference to the "time of the Hand", but I suppose Steve will have to keep that for the title of his autobiography. Here it is:

I got my copy of Steve Hand's new book English Swordsmanship (Volume 1) three nights ago and have been reading with interest since. While I have by no means read it all, I have examined it enough that I thought I would give a short review of the book for those who are interested, and for those who aren't but should be. By way of disclosure I need to point out that I began my sword career under Steve Hand at Stoccata Sydney and was taught by him until he moved to Tasmania. I am still a student at Stoccata Sydney.

I have to admit that I have been looking forward to Steve's book for quite a while. I like the way that he writes about swordplay (he has written many, many articles and a book or two) and I know him to be a thorough teacher of a subject. I was also looking forward to having a comprehensive record of what I had been taught over the past five years of studying Silver. I am glad to say that I haven't been disappointed.

It is obvious from first glance at this book that it contains a very detailed description of Silver's techniques and ideas. There is a huge amount of text and the number of pictures is astounding. From a usability point of view, the text is easy to read and the pictures are fairly clear.