Thread: Nanotechnology in damascus blades

Nanotechnology in damascus blades

First let me introduce myself - I'm a science journalist from Poland, not a sword collector, but I have read this forum since years. You know, jians are wonderful things...

I've just found an article in the current issue of "Nature" about materials and technology in Damascus swords. Here you have a link to an abstract:

http://www.nature.com/nature/journal...s/444286a.html

"The steel of Damascus blades, which were first encountered by the Crusaders when fighting against Muslims, had features not found in European steels — a characteristic wavy banding pattern known as damask, extraordinary mechanical properties, and an exceptionally sharp cutting edge. Here we use high-resolution transmission electron microscopy to examine a sample of Damascus sabre steel from the seventeenth century and find that it contains carbon nanotubes as well as cementite nanowires. This microstructure may offer insight into the beautiful banding pattern of the ultrahigh-carbon steel created from an ancient recipe that was lost long ago."

I think that this article can be very interesting for you. Unfortunately, to read the whole article you have to buy it.

Sounds like bollocks. Did they examine any other type of ancient iron? If you burn any carbon source you get nanotubes and "buckyballs". They are quite common in soot for exmaple. I'll bet that virtually every ferrous sword on the planet contains some level of nanotubes.

What in the world happened to the original thread? There were many more posts including mine...

I noted the same thing that Dan did, that buckyballs and nanotube fragments, as well as graphene sheet fragments, have been created in lampblack factories for centuries.

Also, nanodiamonds, another form of structurally interesting nanocarbon, are formed whenever carbon rich explosives are detonated in sufficient confinement.