Thread: Where to find fittings for Chinese-style bare blades?

Where to find fittings for Chinese-style bare blades?

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Chinese and Chinese-style swords, so apologies in advance for this beginner-type question, which is...

Where can one get appropriate fittings to either refit an antique bare blade, or mount up a newly made blade?

In the Japanese-style sword world there are a multitude of suppliers to help a person do just this, but after a little looking, I'm not finding their Chinese counterparts.

Using the SFI Search function - always a good idea - I have so far found these suggestions:

-- One person used Huang Chao Dynasty Armory, on eBay. They have some blades, but no fittings-- at least at the moment.

-- Another recommended contacting www.mandarinmansion.com for spare Huanuo parts. The proprietors though are currently in China.

-- Kenneth, H. seemed to imply that Zheng Wu might have some fittings, but this is not a regular thing and they would be pricey.

--Phil Tom seems to occasionally make simple fittings from scratch, but on a one off basis.

Any other ideas?

Specifically, I'm looking for fittings for a jian and a willow-leaf.

Thanks for your help everybody.

Sevenstars Trading also sells fittings for sabers.

Long Quan city, Zhejiang province, China.
    Quote Originally Posted by L.S. Lawrence View Post
    -- Kenneth, H. seemed to imply that Zheng Wu might have some fittings, but this is not a regular thing and they would be pricey.
    Thats right. Fittings that we make from scratch are made pr. sword only. Other standardized fittings that are produced by companies specializing in that very area is bough in the same quantity as the quantity of the swords we expect to have finished that very month.