Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: European Swordsmanship vs Japanese Swordsmanship

European Swordsmanship vs Japanese Swordsmanship

Hi, I'm new here, and I'm also quite new to swordsmanship itself.

Brief background: I was first introduced to "swordfighting" through Sports Chanbara (see http://www.internationalsportschanbara.net/entry.html ; http://www.samuraisports.com/actionflex/index.html), my sensei is a direct student, if I'm not wrong, of Master Dana Abbott. As "sporty" as Chanbara may sound, we do learn the fundamentals of Japanese swordsmanship, and our instructors remind us that they do offer higher levels of legitimate swordsmanship: my sensei has mentioned a "Toyama series", I think he means Toyama-ryu Iaido. We are also currently moving toward "sports kenjutsu", which means using actual sword techniques but with the padded weaponry.

Anyway, why I'm posting in here and not the JSA forum is because I wish to find out more about the differences between European swordsmanship styles, specifically that of the bastard sword (it's also called a longsword, right?), and Japanese sword styles in general.

I haven't seen much European swordfighting (not Olympic fencing), but from what I've learnt and seen, about JSA especially, they seem to me more about getting in there and cutting the other fellow to pieces, while European sword arts seem to have more "swordplay". Then again, I haven't seen much.

Please pardon the long-winded post, but I hope my curiosity was properly phrased.

Looking forward to a fruitful learning journey here.
    Thank you.

This question has been asked ad nauseum, so before someone else says it, use the 'search' function.
    "Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."

-Benjamin Franklin-

Quote Originally Posted by Jim D. L. View Post