Thread: Chen Bamboo Stick Katana SH1002?

Question Chen Bamboo Stick Katana SH1002?

Hi All:

I am new to SF (this is my first post), but I am not new to swords and fencing. I am looking for recommendations for a working katana for taking on lengthy deep back woods kayaking and camping trips. The katana should have some specific characteristics:

1. The katana should NOT have a tsuba (guard) ... it makes packing and storage of the blade more difficult in a kayak or backpack. I will strap the katana to the deck strapping or gunwale of my kayak, and a tsuba would get in the way.

2. The blade should be either straight or moderately curved.

3. Blade should be sturdy, and capable of tamagishiri (although that will not be it's primary duty).

4. Blade should NOT be stainless. If possible, blade should be differentially tempered and have a real hamon.

5. Handle should be sturdy, capable of abuse, and be a minimum of 10.5 inches long.

6. It would be nice is the blade were lively, with good balance and not be too tip-heavy.

I have been looking at the Paul Chen Chen Bamboo Stick Katana SH1002. Anyone have experience or impressions of this blade?

Any other recommendations?

Thanks. Bob Goldschmidt.

Hi Bob Goldschmidt,

I’m currently remounting a Paul Chen Bamboo Stick Katana for a friend.
    The blade its self is very nicely made, although the Habaki is glued on for some reason. As with all the Chen blades I’ve seen the tang is signed (inscribed) and numbered. The nagasa is 72 ¼” with a nakago length of 9 ¾”, the mihaba at machi is a slender 1 1/8”. Its tori sori is a slight ½”.

The bamboo cane effect is basically a “shirasaya”, and not really a “sword cane”, the lacquered tsuka in my opinion is a very impractical grip for practice of any kind, especially heavy cutting.

This sword seems to fit most of your requirements, but I’m not sure that the handle was ever designed to be used for cutting.