Thread: Validation of a 1849 Ames 1840 style Heavy Cavalry Saber

Validation of a 1849 Ames 1840 style Heavy Cavalry Saber

Good afternoon gentlemen.

I am a newbe to the forum although I have been monitoring for several months, learning greatly from your observations and comments. Taking heed of the excellent advice given here to try and avoid purchasing a fake sword, I have studied Thillmann's "Civil War Cavalry & Artillery Sabers" and Hamilton's "The Ames Sword Company 1829-1935" carefully as well as the "makers' Mark" guide “Manufacturers of Regulation Model Enlisted Swords During the US Civil War" by Mike McWatters located on the web with many pictures of makers' marks at:

http://www.angelfire.com/wa/swordcol...rks/page1.html

I believe I have purchased an original Ames, based on all of the excellent advice provided on this forum and in the above publications, but I am no sword expert. Hence I would really appreciate comments from this august group as to the authenticity of my purchased sword. Pictures follow but first a comment about the saber I purchased. It is marked:

AMES MFG. CO.
    CABOTVILLE

Tillmann seems to imply in "Civil War Cavalry & Artillery Sabers” (page 51) that Ames sabers produced after 1848 were marked:

AMES MFG. CO.
    CHICOPEE
    MASS

However, Hamilton, in "The Ames Sword Company 1829-1935" shows on pages 142-143, an 1849 U.S Mounted Rifleman’s Knife with the identical labeling as on my saber indicating Cabotville. Even the inspector's mark "WD" is the same as on my saber on the reverse side under "US". My saber also has "WD” and "JWR" on the pommel. "JWR" appears on the Rifleman's Knife in Hamilton, on the knife's guard.

Also, a picture in "Manufacturers of Regulation Model Enlisted Swords During the US Civil War" by Mike McWatters located on the web shows an Ames Saber dated 1850 as having the same markings as my saber including the "CABOTVILLE" address:

and selecting the link: Heavy cavalry saber, dated 1850