Thread: Identification -very old odd sword

Identification -very old odd sword

Hello,

I have an odd swords that I'm curious about
    Seems to be several metal layers folded togeter
    Straight blade triangular but ever so slightly convex profile with a blood groove on each side
    Blade is 70cm long (27.5inch)
    Been in the family for close to 100 years.
    Some images:
    [/IMG]

REally curious about its orgin and use.

Kind regards

Per Viklund

Kampilan-like

I am no expert on any type of blade, but your sword looks quite a bit like a Moro Kampilan. If you Google Kampilan, you can see many similar swords. Yours is different in two ways. Usually the grip/ pommel is a a open mouthed creature. Second Kampilan often have a distinctive hook near the tip of the blade which sometimes breaks off. Hope this helps.

Greg

Hi,

This is definately a moro kampilan (Philippines).
    The handles of kampilans are in several shapes and the blades also (with or without spikelet at the tip).
    I think you have a rare type of kampilan here (concerning the handle and the tip of the blade).

Regards,
    Maurice
    Last edited by Maurice B.; 11-07-2009 at 03:56 PM.

Thanks for your quick replies. Very helpful!

Did a search and found a lot of info

I'm not a collector so if its rare, maybe I should offer it for sale so some one more serious about it can enjoy it.

/Per

Hi,

I am interested.
    My email is: mbloebaum@gmail.com

regards,
    Maurice

I would be interested in the sword.

mandawe@hotmail.com

u have an email

I looks to be a kampilan sure.. but this is a very special one I think. Look at the pommel.. different than most... It has the shape of an Iranun/Ilanun kind bu tthe eye of a Mindanaoan. The tip is also different. This is very special. Timorese? Iranun? Maguindanaoan? I don't know. But this is not common.

Nice very unusualy kampilan; I hope you are well compensated.
    You asked about use.