Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sword stuck in leather scabbard

Smile Sword stuck in leather scabbard

Hi there, this is my first time posting in this forum (or any forum for that matter). Please forgive me if I have done this incorrectly...

I purchased an 1822 pattern infantry sergeants sword at auction the other day and it refuses to budge from the scabbard. The sword sticks out of the scabbard about 2 inches (it was like that when I purchased it) and will neither pull free of the scabbard nor go down into it. The locket is also no longer attached and slides freely up and down. Any ideas about how to extract the sword without damaging the scabbard?

I'm suspecting that the leather has shrunk. Would the Pecard's Antique Leather dressing (which I read about in the conservation section) revitalize the leather, so to speak?

I also have the Conservator at the museum I volunteer at looking into it, but I would love to hear if anyone has any ideas...

Thanks,

Matt
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Honey View Post
    Would the Pecard's Antique Leather dressing (which I read about in the conservation section) revitalize the leather, so to speak?

I also have the Conservator at the museum I volunteer at looking into it, but I would love to hear if anyone has any ideas...

Thanks,

Matt
    Matthew,

Welcome to the forum. I would talk to the conservator; you are lucky to have such access.

Pecards is petroleum based, and while being great on newer leather, is no longer considered by some experts good for the antique leather (given the different way antique leather was cured/made). Allegedly, the petroleum base in the formula actually degrades the antique leather over time as well as the stitching. An inert museum wax appears to be favored in its place (by some).

All opinion of course.

Best
    Simon