Thread: The other Kukri bought at the weekend.

The other Kukri bought at the weekend.

This is the other Kukri bought at Birmingham, I would guess later in date but again not service issue. Not as fine in lines or finish as the previous one, and the spine rougher and without the distal taper that one had. It has a a belt loop, two pockets for by-knives of which one survives but no khissa. All iron mounts................ Any ideas as to this one being Indian or Nepali in manufacture, or when it was made?
    Attached Images Attached Images      

Not a bad looking kukri. I'm not too good with an ID on this one but hopefully someone will offer you an opinion soon.

Captain.
    PARTING THE CLOUDS SEEKING THE WAY
    Everyone is entitled to their own opinions not their own facts.

Hello David,

Another good find. I would place your kukri from mid WW2 onwards. The use of steel rather than brass fittings is a good general indication of earlier production.

Probably made for private purchase, one of many styles which could have been bought by troops in India, possibly made in the area around Darjeeling.

Very unlikely to be an issued piece.

Kind regards,

Chris

Hi David,

Id agree with Chris, ww2 up to early fifties for the kukri.

Its Indian made to me, the style which some used to call "military sirupate" looks classic Dehradun style to me, as does the scabbard.

Some kukri in this style were carried by Gurkhas, but given the number of Gurkhas, employed against the other British army troops stationed in India many of whom were issued & even more bought a kukri, ownership by a Chindit or some other British unit is much more likely. Most of those were private purchase. {not all though.}

But of course this is all just our veiwpoints, once the provenance has been lost, we are left with or informed opinions.