Thread: Kirschbaum and Weyersberg Logos

Kirschbaum and Weyersberg Logos

When I see a Weyersberg king's head logo stamped by itself on the ricasso of a sword, I assume it predates the 1883 merger with Kirschbaum. I used to think the same applied to the Kirschbaum knight's head logo, but then I began to notice a number of what appeared to be post-1883 swords, some also stamped "Germany", which were stamped with a lone knight's head logo. I have little to no knowledge of German makers and the evolution of their logos. Do any of our members know if WKC continued to use the sole Knight's head logo after the merger, and if so, when and why? Did it also continue to use a sole king's head? When and for what purpose?

After 1918, just a Ritter (Knight) head logo.

Dale, thanks for the response. I believe the swords to which I am referring date to before 1918. They are primarily variations of the US models introduced in 1872 and during the next 10 - 20 years, e.g.M1860/72 S&F swords and M1872/80 cavalry and field officer swords. Here is a picture of a late Horstmaan M1872 S&F:

Name:  Late Horstmann WKC 1.JPG
Views: 80
Size:  35.2 KBName:  Late Horstmann WKC 2.JPG
Views: 82
Size:  89.6 KBName:  Late Horstmann WKC 3.JPG
Views: 81
Size:  41.6 KB

If WKC used the Knight's head on these post 1883 swords, why didn't they also use the king's head? or did they?

I am only really sure of their domestic production for Germany. I suspect the "Ritterhelm" was used to indicate subcontracted blades for export. I have noted this on other US Swords too, and wondered, the German Language boards say it was an export mark, meaning that they only made the blade, but written sources are scarce on this..

BTW: The German collectors call this a "Knight's Helm"...I do not know why, but our usage is different.

Dale

Hi Dale,