Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Expensive Mistake, or 'SLO Fandango'

Expensive Mistake, or 'SLO Fandango'

About a week ago, a friend of mine informed me that a friend of his said I was dumb. The reason? Apparently I'm a mug for paying too much for a sword.

I'll admit I'm a novice collector, only owning a couple wallhangers and a PPK. but thanks to sfi, I'm learning.

Anyway, I asked what in the blue hell he meant (I got a good deal on my PPK, paid 200 dollars for it). My friend, who is a complete layman, said his friend had bought a 'Heat tempered Carbon steel Katana' for 40 bucks. Apparently, it was a real masterpiece, because the website he bought it off said so.

Last night my friend was going to thins guy's house to pick something up, so I tagged along.

While I was there I asked to see his sword.

With the smug expression of someone laying down an ace, he went and got it, and handed it to me. I would also like to point out he handed it to me so reverentially, you'd think it was Excalibur.

I inspected it. Then pointed out the following:

1: Carbon steel tends not to be stamped '440 stainless'

2: The Hamon was a PERFECT sine wave, so likely to be etched, therefore not differentially tempered

3: Any sword marked 'made in Pakistan' does not have much chance of being high quality

4: The blade felt slightly loose in the Handle

5. It wasn't a katana, it was a Wakizashi

(Basically imagine the cheapest SLO you've ever laid eyes on.)

Now I didn't do this with a know-all atitude, I didn't make fun. (hell, I had one just like it hanging on my wall). I even told him where he could het a PK for 130 bucks! I tried to give the guy a bit of advice, to stop him wasting money on crap, like I did when I first got started in sword collecting.

Instead, I seemed to deeply offend his 'Discovery Channel Special, expert in an afternoon' sensibilities.