Thread: Martialartswords Shirayuri L6 katana review

Martialartswords Shirayuri L6 katana review

Recently, I was fortunate enough that Martialartswords.com allowed me to test their new Shirayuri L6 katana. My background is in Toyama Ryu, and a member of the US Battodo Federation and my dojo is located in NYC so you can conclude tameshigiri is a big staple of our curriculum. So first things first

first impressions - this L6 katana seemed heavier than the older models that I have previously handled (the flame classic and sunflower classic) but the balance seemed more middle to handle heavy while the previous were middle to a bit tip heavier. Now don’t get me wrong, this is compared to the older models of Martialartswords. I use a Hataya Kotetsu as my regular kata and cutting sword so this sword is uber light for me. I really liked the shape of the sword. It is a shinogi zukuri and is 28 inches long (with habaki). The blade itself is about 1.25 inches wide and not that much niku at all. It has a nice even sori and I really like the kissaki although it took a second to get used to. The kissaki is not really O-kissaki but not really mid kissaki either. Kinda in between. The blade is wider compared to your standard production sword (which I liked) and the shinogi has a good even shape on both sides making this sword a good shape for hard and soft target cutting. The wrap is a suede like material that feels good in your hands and makes sure the grip is held firm. The fittings themselves are well...okie. They do the job. The tsuba is really nice even though it really tore up my forefinger knuckle, but the menuki, fuchi, fuchi kashira were all very...plain giving it a wallhanger feel. For a sword that is really a beauty, I think it deserved better fittings. The saya was very well made. It was tight. No rattling, nice clean shape BUT, it does taper near the koiguchi which you see only on lower end production swords.