Thread: H&H Advice

H&H Advice

Hi to all,

Im still very new to WMA and have just begun training in the Foire dei Liberi system.
    I realise im jumping the gun a bit here by even thinking of purchasing a steel training weapon but I have the oppertunity to purchase either a Hanwei or Paul Chen practical H&H for what seems a very reasonable £70'ish.

Going on the basis that I have the cash availible now (and may not have the oppertunity again for some time) and that either sword will need to stand up to a good deal of abuse through training and possibly sparring (though not likley any time soon) does anyone have any knowledge or experience with either of the above and would anyone care to make any recommendations?

Im looking at this as an investment for the future but am unsure as to how these blades will stand up to full contact - especially when the web resources ive seen state they "provide the level of safety required by many of todays re-enactors"!
    Again being new to historical swordsmanship im running blind with a lot of the terminology but am under the impression (and I apologise in advance if through mis-information I offend anyone) that re-enactment does not use the same kind of force or dish out the same abuse as full contact historical fencing.

Oh and I have to make up my mind by tuesday or the Hanwei will definately be gone.

Many thanks in advance, Col
    "Say you know when you know; say you dont when you dont. That is knowledge." - Confucius

"The pen is mightier than the sword you say? Lets test that theory shall we, you can have a biro?"

www.the-exiles.org.uk