Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: forging katanas

Question forging katanas

I want to know how to forge a katana, because me and a couple of my friends were thinking on going into a forging bussiness and first we need to know how to make katanas, so can anyone help me out here.

Welcome to the forum,

I think others will agree when I say, its best to start reading some books before doing anything else.
    you want to forge a katana, mono steel, folded, tamahagane??
    Things are not as easy as they look.
    Amazon has plenty of books.
    good luck
    More Sweat In Training Less Blood In Combat
    My Site

i am a total noob at forging but i dont recomend forging a katana as a first option . start with something small like a tanto and gain some experience and go bigger . get the book "the craft of the japanese sword" and read the posts

Thomas.D

I do not know how to say this without sounding condescending and be assured that is not my intention.

I have been forging blades since 1979 and making knives for several years prior to that through stock removal. Your goal is worthy and hopefully with perseverance and hard work you will get there. However, let me say that it is not as easy as your question suggests. I think it is the business part that implies a larger scale operation rather than just making a single katana that made me even hesitate in responding. Just to make one forged katana of mono steel would be a challenge and a serious investment in equipment and time. It is not as simple as just beating out a piece of steel as I am sure you know.