Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here, Looking for Info On a sword found in walls of my home.

Smile Newbie here, Looking for Info On a sword found in walls of my home.

When I did a search I had no luck finding a program that translates the Japanese symbols on the Tang of the sword. From the info I did find the Signature is quite nice, I believe it is in the Takanoha style where the file marks are filed in 2 different directions in a feather type pattern. Correct me if Im wrong. I wasnt sure if this is the place to post pics, so I am asking first. From what I have learned the chips out of the blade could be the result of battle. I cant believe how sharp it still is. There is no Handle. It is a Katana style sword, from what I have seen on other sites.

We purchased our home a year ago, our first home, always watched if walls could talk, and never thought we would find anything, but a month ago we tore out a 6 foot section of a wall to put in a breakfast bar, and found it standing next to a wall stud. Our house was built in 1880.

Sorry for the long read, I just figured it might be interesting. I can post pictures, I just wanted to know if it was ok first. Thanks for anyones help.

Thumbs up

Mike
    Welcome. It is certainly OK to post pictures, in fact I'd say it was recommended. You will have to resize them to 100Kb or less but then it is srtaight forward. I, and I'm sure the rest of us, will look forward to seeing them. What a lucky find, let's see if someone can help with the identification. I have always found the people here most helpful and knowlegable.
    The journey not the destination

Thank you for the warm welcome, will post these pics and see if anyone can help me out! My wife says we need to start tearing walls down now, lol.
    Attached Images Attached Images